Meet the team in Art History and Cultural Practices.

We, the staff of Art History and Cultural Practices at The University of Manchester, abhor racism and are committed to redressing the issues of discrimination and racialised disadvantage within our disciplines and our own teaching and research practice, and to decolonising our curriculum.

We are determined to produce a departmental culture that welcomes and supports BIPOC, LGBTQIA+, and disabled students and staff, and where everyone is equally recognised and can flourish.

We attract the very best talent, and our staff are both international and internationally recognised.

Our inspiring academics can give our students first-hand access to cutting-edge research and real-world knowledge to take with them after graduation.

Head of Art History and Cultural Practices

Staff - Art History

Staff - Institute for Cultural Practices

Research Assistant under Institute for Cultural Practices

Staff - Digital Humanities, Cultures and Media

Library and Archive Studies

Honorary professors


  • Prof Helen Rees Leahy - Professor in Museology
  • Prof Roger Ling - Professor of Classical Art and Archaeology
  • Prof David Lomas - Professor of Art History
  • Prof Carol Mavor - Professor of Art History
  • Mr David O'Connor - Lecturer in Art History
  • Dr Tom Rasmussen - Senior Lecturer in Art History
  • Prof Marcia Pointon - Professor Emerita in History of Art