Search type

Art History

Research highlights

Recent books

Curating exhibitions, displays and installations


  • Mark Crinson has won the Historians of British Art Prize (2014) in the post-1800 category for his book Stirling and Gowan: Architecture from Austerity to Affluence (Yale University Press). The prize is awarded by the Historians of British Art, an affiliated society of the College Art Association (USA).
  • Charlie Miller won the 2012 Phillips Book Prize for his manuscript Radical Picasso: Surrealism and the Theory of the Avant-Garde. This highly prestigious prize is offered by the Phillips Collection in Washington DC and includes a generous subvention for publication of the book by California University Press.
  • Edward Wouk won the Wolfgang-Ratjen-Preis (Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte, Munich, 2012) for The New Hollstein Dutch and Flemish Etchings, Engravings and Woodcuts, 1450-1650. Frans Floris de Vriendt, ed. Ger Luijten, 2 vols., Ouderkerk aan den Ijssel, 2011.