Meet the people that make up our English Literature and Creative Writing department.

Head of English, American Studies and Creative Writing

Head of English Literature


Honorary and Associate staff

  • Dr Burcu Alkan - Honorary Research Fellow
  • Dr Letizia Alterno - Honorary Research Fellow
  • Dr Iain Bailey - Honorary Research Fellow
  • Dr William Hutchings - Honorary Research Fellow
  • Maxine Peake - Honorary Professor of Literature and Performance
  • Dr Alexander Rumble - Honorary Research Fellow

Emeritus staff

  • Prof. Laura Doan - Professor of Cultural History and Sexuality Studies
  • Prof. Patricia Duncker - Emeritus Professor of Contemporary Writing
  • Prof. Hal Gladfelder - Professor of English and Comparative Literature
  • Prof. Gale Owen-Crocker - Emeritus Professor of Anglo-Saxon Culture
  • Prof. Jacqueline Pearson - Emeritus Professor of English Literature
  • Prof. Janet Wolff - Emeritus Professor of Cultural Sociology